WHO in South-East Asia

World Health Organization in South-East Asia

Home to a quarter of the world population, WHO SEARO provides leadership on health matters, articulates evidence-based policy options, provides technical support to countries and monitors health trends.

WHO South-East Asia Countries

  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Maldives
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste

50 Years of WHO in South-East Asia, 1948-1998

The South-East Asia Region of the World Health Organization, established in 1948, was the first of its six regions. For over five decades, the collaborative efforts of WHO have focused on improving the health of the people in the Region. These efforts have led to some remarkable achievements like the eradication of smallpox, improvement in life-expectancy and reduction in infant and maternal mortality rates.